Split sales orders by backorder
During sales order entry, backordered line items can be split off into a new order. This allows items [that can be shipped] to be fulfilled on the original sales document with the backordered items being fulfilled separately. All sales documents retain the same order number, with each being assigned a unique invoice number.
Setup
To use this feature, you will first need to enable it. Go to Administration ➤ System Configuration and select Sales Document from the drop-down menu.
System Configuration settings
Find the Split Orders At Save? setting then double-click and set it to Yes, by backorder.
Sales orders can be split either by warehouse or by backorder, not both.
If you choose to split by backorder, there are settings that control when the order is split.
Find the Split by backorder at save? setting then double-click it. The choices are listed below.
When finished, click OK to save these settings.
- Ask at Committed: The system will prompt you to split the order when saved at Committed status.
- Ask at Picked: The system will prompt you to split the order when saved at Picked status.
- Always at Committed: The system will automatically split the order when saved at Committed status.
- Always at Picked: The system will automatically split the order when saved at Picked status.
1. Split a sales order by backorder qty
Following normal sales order entry protocols, enter a new order with at least one line item that has a Qty BO > 0. Save the order in Committed or Picked status.
In the screenshot below, lines 2 & 3 each have a BO Qty > 0. Line 2 will be completely moved to the new order. However, since line 3 has a partial Ship Qty, only the portion with the backordered units will be moved to the new order.
All subsequent orders will carry the same order number. However, when shipped/invoiced, each order will be assigned a unique invoice number.
1.1. Split the order into multiple orders?
If System Configuration is set to "ask" at committed or picked, you will see this prompt below.
If System Configuration is set to "always" split at either status, the system will split the order silently.
1.2. Examples
Here you can see the original order has been split into two separate orders.
Below you can see the detail from both split orders. From this point forward, each order can be processed according to normal protocols.
There are a few differences now that the order has been split:
- The backordered line items have been moved.
- The original order number has carried over.
- There is a note in red that indicates the order was Split.
- Split* (with an asterisk) denotes the original order.
- Split (without an asterisk) denotes the order(s) created from the original.
- There is a reference to the original order quantity (e.g. the Orig Ord column).
2. What happens if there is a Payment attached to the original order?
If a Receipt is entered on the Payments tab of the original order and you choose to split the order, you will be presented with two options for the Receipt:
- Keep it with this order: The full amount of the payment will be applied to the original order only.
- Apply it to the Client account: A Receipt for full amount of the payment will be created. The Receipt will not be applied to any specific balance. You can go to the Receipt window and apply it either as a Client Deposit (liability) or an A/R Credit (contra-asset) or you can apply to an existing open receivable.
If you choose #1 and the amount of the Payment is greater than the balance of the order, the system will display a credit balance due. If you post the order with the credit balance due, the client will have an A/R credit on their account.







