Reset the Permissions for the AV Client App. (Mac OS)

Important: If you are using Mac OS 10.9 or above, please don't overlook the final step in this article!

1. Open a new Finder Window and navigate to the Applications folder.

Right-click (or control-click) on the AcctVantage Client folder.

2. Navigate to the AcctVantage Client Info window.

Click Get Info to proceed.

Navigate to the AcctVantage Client Info window.

3. Here is the AcctVantage 2013 Client Info window.

In this screenshot you can see that some of the Permissions are Read Only. Even if all of them currently say Read & Write, there still are some files that are Read Only within the application so these steps still must be taken.

Here is the AcctVantage 2013 Client Info window.

4. Change the Permissions to 'Read & Write' for all.

  1. Set the Permissions to Read & Write for all users.
    • This is mandatory in order for AcctVantage to function like it's supposed to. It does not open up any security holes relating to any permissions settings within AcctVantage.
  2. Using the Action Menu (i.e. the gear), you should Apply to Enclosed Items.
    • If the lock icon is closed you may need to enter your system password to unlock it (NOT your AcctVantage password).
    • Even if all of the items already were set to Read & Write, there are still items within the application that need to be reset. This step must be performed.
    • This is mandatory in order for AcctVantage to function like it's supposed to. It does not open up any security holes relating to any permissions settings within AcctVantage.
Change the Permissions to 'Read & Write' for all.

5. Are you sure...?

Yes, you are sure! Click OK to proceed.

Next, you will see a progress bar appear briefly. When that is done you can close the lock and then close the window.

Are you sure...?

6. Prevent the App from taking a Nap! (for OS 10.9 and up)

Important Note:

  • If your AcctVantage Client is running Mac OS 10.9 or above (e.g. Mavericks, Yosemite...) you will need to right-click on the AV Client application itself and check the box for "Prevent App Nap".
  • Leaving the App Nap feature turned on is known to cause connectivity issues between the AV Server and Client. No napping on the job!
  • This is mandatory in order for AcctVantage to function like it's supposed to.
Prevent the App from taking a Nap! (for OS 10.9 and up)