Undo the "Remember Password" setting

Mac OS

Note: In order to use these instructions you'll need to access the User Library folder. In some versions of Mac OS the User Library is a hidden folder. Open a Finder window > click on the Go menu and hold down the Option key to reveal the hidden User Library folder.

AV 2015 & Later

  1. Open a Finder window and navigate to the following path: /Users/<username>/Library/Application Support/AcctVantage ERP Client/Favorites v13/Remote/
    • Note: Replace Favorites v13 with Favorites v15 for AV 2017/2018.
  2. Within the Remote folder there will be a file with the extension *.mdp
  3. There are 2 things that can be done in order to undo the "Remember Password" setting:
    • Delete the file. If you do this, the user will be prompted to enter their username and password the next time they log in to AV.
    • Delete the password attribute from within the file. Open the file in TextEdit and delete the encrypted password attribute. If you do this, the username will still auto-populate in the login screen (one less thing to type!)
      • The remaining code should look like this: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><database_shortcut user_name="username_goes_here"/>

AV 2012/2013

  1. Open a Finder window and navigate to the following path: /Users/<username>/Library/Preferences/4D/Favorites v12/Remote/
  2. Within the Remote folder there will be a file with the extension *.mdp
  3. There are 2 things that can be done in order to undo the "Remember Password" setting:
    • Delete the file. If you do this, the user will be prompted to enter their username and password the next time they log in to AV.
    • Delete the password attribute from within the file. Open the file in TextEdit and delete the encrypted password attribute. If you do this, the username will still auto-populate in the login screen (one less thing to type!)
      • The remaining code should look like this: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><database_shortcut user_name="username_goes_here"/>

Windows OS

AV 2017/2018

  1. Open a Windows Explorer window and navigate to the following path. Please note that this path might vary slightly based on the specific version of Windows.
    • In Windows 7 + AV 2017/2018 the path is: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\AV 2017\Favorites v15\Remote\
  2. Within the Remote folder there will be a file with the extension *.mdp
  3. There are 2 things that can be done in order to undo the "Remember Password" setting:
    • Delete the file. If you do this, the user will be prompted to enter their username and password the next time they log in to AV.
    • Delete the password attribute from within the file. Open the file in Notepad and delete the encrypted password attribute. If you do this, the username will still auto-populate in the login screen (one less thing to type!)
      • The remaining code should look like this: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><database_shortcut user_name="username_goes_here"/>

AV 2015

  1. Open a Windows Explorer window and navigate to the following path. Please note that this path might vary slightly based on the specific version of Windows.
    • In Windows 7 + AV 2015, the path is: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\4D Volume Desktop\Favorites v13\Remote\
  2. Within the Remote folder there will be a file with the extension *.mdp
  3. There are 2 things that can be done in order to undo the "Remember Password" setting:
    • Delete the file. If you do this, the user will be prompted to enter their username and password the next time they log in to AV.
    • Delete the password attribute from within the file. Open the file in Notepad and delete the encrypted password attribute. If you do this, the username will still auto-populate in the login screen (one less thing to type!)
      • The remaining code should look like this: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><database_shortcut user_name="username_goes_here"/>
AV 2012/2013
  1. Open a Windows Explorer window and navigate to the following path: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\4D\Favorites v12\Remote\
  2. Within the Remote folder there will be a file with the extension *.mdp
  3. There are 2 things that can be done in order to undo the "Remember Password" setting:
    • Delete the file. If you do this, the user will be prompted to enter their username and password the next time they log in to AV.
    • Delete the password attribute from within the file. Open the file in Notepad and delete the encrypted password attribute. If you do this, the username will still auto-populate in the login screen (one less thing to type!)
      • The remaining code should look like this: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><database_shortcut user_name="username_goes_here"/>